Thanks to Chad Post for sharing this on Facebook. In this article from the New Yorker, Nicholson Baker reviews the Kindle. He pans it, but just the Kindle–not e-books in general. Neither should I, I suppose. I wouldn’t want to be listed in one of those collections of silly quotes from people long-dead who said things like, “The telephone is a passing fad, and people will never give up letter-writing.” Odds are I will have joined the trend sooner or later.

Anyway, it’s a good article. When he quotes some of the Kindle’s raving fans, I’m riled by the person who described her fear of used books: “who knows where they’ve been?” That, in my opinion, is most of the joy of buying used books–they could have been anywhere, owned by anyone. But as Baker points out, “A Kindle book dies with its possessor.”

